This year’s NewsBrands Ireland Journalism Awards took place late last week and from all of us here in Hear Me Roar Media we would like to personally congratulate each award winning journalist. One of the nights highlights was the coveted ‘Journalist of the Year’ award going to Rosita Boland for her coverage of the Ann Lovett case. The awards are a welcome addition to every journalists’ calendars. Once again, congratulations to all the winners:

Business Journalist – Tom Lyons, The Sunday Business Post.
Business Story – Mark Paul and Colm Keena, The Irish Times.
Campaigning Journalism – Irish Independent Tracker Mortgage coverage (Charlie Weston).
Columnist (Broadsheet) – Fintan O’ Toole, The Irish Times
Columnist (Popular) – Philip Nolan, Irish Daily Mail
Critic – Richard Pine, The Sunday Times
Crime Story – Michael O’ Toole, Irish Daily Star
Crime Journalist – Stephen Breen, The Irish Sun
Digital Excellence – Irish Farmers Journal
Features (Broadsheet) – Conor Lally, The Irish Times
Features (Popular) – Aoife Finneran, The Irish Sun
Foreign Coverage – Sally Hayden, The Irish Times
Front Page – Irish Daily Mail (I Found Out Today I’m Dying)
Headline – Irish Daily Star (Chilly Wrong Kearney)
Investigative Journalism –Sunday Independent Investigative Team (Maeve Sheehan, Wayne O’ Connor and Mark O’ Regan)
News Analysis – Susan Mitchell, The Sunday Business Post
News Reporter – Mark Tighe, The Sunday Times
Political Journalist – Fiach Kelly, The Irish Times
Political Story – Ellen Coyne, The Times, Ireland Edition
Scoop – Rosita Boland, The Irish Times
Showbiz Story – Jennifer O’ Brien and Catherine Sanz, The Times, Ireland Edition
Showbiz Journalist – Barry Egan, Sunday Independent
Sports Story – Vincent Hogan, Irish Independent
Sports Writer (Broadsheet) – Vincent Hogan, Irish Independent
Sports Writer (Popular) – David Coughlan, Irish Daily Star
Young Journalist of the Year – Amy Molloy,
Journalist of the Year 2018 – Rosita Boland, The Irish Times.

Well done everyone!